Saltar al contenido

How to block a contact without your knowledge

How to block a contact without your knowledge

Cover » Tips » How to block a contact without your knowledge

Does anyone on WhatsApp bother you? A newly arrived colleague or an uncomfortable distant relative? Know that you can block it so that you no longer receive messages, audio or any other attempts to contact that person – and all this without knowing what it is.

If you are using WhatsApp on Android, the path is simple:

1 – Press the menu button (three dots in the upper right part of the screen); 2 – Go to Settings> Accounts> Privacy> Blocked contacts; 3 – On this page you can see all the contacts that have been blocked. Click «Add» in the upper right corner and select the contact you want to block.

To unlock it, you just have to follow the same path. If you want to block someone who isn’t on your contact list, simply open the conversation with that person and tap the highlighted «block» at the top of the conversation.

If you are using WhatsApp on iPhone, the path is similar:

1 – Press the settings button (a gear icon at the bottom right of the screen); 2 – Go to Account> Privacy> blocked; 3 – On this page you can see all the contacts that have been blocked. Click «Add New» and select the contact you want to block.

As in Android to unlock you just have to follow the same path backwards. To block someone who is not in your contact list, open the conversation with that person, tap the phone number at the top of the screen and select the «Block this contact» option.

If you are WhatsApp on a Windows Phone, this is the way:

1 – Press the «More» button (three dots in the corner); 2 – Go to Settings> Contacts> Blocked contacts; 3 – On this page you can see all the contacts that have been blocked. Tap the plus sign (+) and select the contact you want to block.

Like any other system, you just have to repeat the steps to unblock someone, by tapping and holding the person who is now in the blocked list. If you want to exclude a person who is not in your address book, open a chat window with that user, click on «Other» (three dots) and select «BLOCK».

What happens to those who are blocked?

how-to-block-a-contact-without-knowing-

A blocked contact can continue to send multiple messages, but you can’t see them because they don’t reach your phone. If it tries to send you a message, the text is only marked with a gray check mark, which means the message was sent, but not received.

On the other hand, a blocked contact cannot see their profile picture or their status, or whether they are online and it will not be the last time the application was opened. You must also remember to block a person on WhatsApp so as not to delete them from the contact list, or from it.

The application does not notify the user that it has been blocked. Therefore, a contact who has been banned from your application cannot know that you have blocked it. The only «clue» is the fact that your photo is deleted and its status disappears, but nothing else.